Tags

, , , ,

I have been away for a couple of weeks holidaying in lovely Canada so this is the first bit of baking I have done in ages… although I have been eating lots of baked goods on my travels! I also brought a litre of maple syrup back with me (luckily the bottle didn't explode in my case) so I will be making something syrupy soon!

These chocolate tartlets topped with glazed raspberries were really nice. This was more luck than judgement because I didn't follow the recipe for the chocolate filling properly! The tartlet cases were made using Mary Berry's pate sucrée (sweet shortcrust pastry) recipe and blind baked for 15 minutes. The filling… my own creation… is made by bringing 200ml double cream, 1 tablespoon of caster sugar, a knob of unsalted butter and a drop of vanilla extract to the boil and then pouring over 100g chopped dark chocolate and stirring. The warm chocolate mix is then poured into the cooked tartlet cases and chilled until set. It had a really nice consistency when set and wasn't too rich. I used Cadbury's Bourneville chocolate (the cooking chocolate recommended by Paul Hollywood in his book).

I served the tartlets to my friends on Saturday night and they got a positive review. I also got thumbs up from my husband who doesn't really like chocolate but loved these.

I am sure from the references above you can tell what I am watching on a Tuesday night at 8pm. I love The Great British Bake Off! Whoop!

 

 

