Tags

, ,

Inspired by the Great British Bake Off I was determined to try making choux pastry this weekend. I woke up this morning with a slightly dull head after a day of shopping and champagne yesterday but I went to the shop, bought the missing ingredients and got going! I followed Mary Berry's recipe which was fairly simple and to my amazement they turned out just like the picture in the book (well almost – the icing was more rustic looking). They were really nice – light and tasty. I think if I made them again I would make thicker icing and perhaps pipe it on to make the éclairs look more polished. I've attached a video link showing a pastry chef making choux to show the texture and consistency of the pastry although the method he uses is a bit different than the recipe I followed.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/video/2012/jul/06/how-make-choux-pastry-video

 

