Tags

, , , , , , ,

We have just made a snowy trip back from the Midlands having been to little Isla's Christening. Adam had the important job of being Godfather and I offered to make a cake. Unfortunately I couldn't make the cake I had originally planned (the link is here) as our online shopping delivery failed to arrive due to the weather so I didn't have all of the ingredients. Instead, I used Lorraine Pascale's recipe for chocolate cake (click for the link) and used the white chocolate buttercream as per the first recipe.

I decided to try the petal effect with the buttercream and although it didn't look as good as the demonstration I followed (see here) it was effective – shabby chic is all the rage I believe!

The Christening service was lovely and afterwards we were invited for an Indian buffet at a local restaurant which was delish! I assembled the cake at the restaurant. I didn't need any doweling and the lettering had been cut out of rolled icing a few days before which meant the letters were hard and easy to put in place.

Isla's Grandma had made a beautifully iced moist fruitcake which I am eating as I blog – yum! Everyone took a piece of cake with them and I hope they're all enjoying it now, cosy at home, with a cup of tea!

 

 

