Tags

, , , ,

I have been telling myself I need to try decorating a cake with fondant icing for ages… and making a birthday cake for my friend Helen seemed like the perfect occasion to attempt it – well it wouldn’t have been if it had all gone wrong – but anyway…

I decided to follow Lorraine Pascale’s recipe for Red Velvet Cake and decorate it as she suggests. Click here for the link to the recipe. Although the recipe is for a three tier extravaganza I just made the smallest tier in a 6” round cake tin.

To be honest I wouldn’t use the recipe again. The cake was fine but it wasn’t red! I put in the recommended amount of red food colouring – maybe even a bit more for luck – but no joy. I used gel food colouring too which I thought was stronger? Anyway, the cream cheese frosting was nice and I would make that again.

Icing the cake was really enjoyable. I followed the following video tutorial (click here for the link) and it worked! I think the icing smoother was the key to getting it to look respectable. The icing smoother looks like a little plastic iron and only costs a few pounds.

All in all I am pleased with my first venture into “proper” cake decorating and I’m looking forward to finding another excuse to create an iced gem!

 

