Tags

, , , , , ,

I asked my chief cake tester (aka my husband) what he wanted me to bake at the weekend. He said something lemony. I looked at lemon recipes and nothing grabbed me. So I made these tarts… not too far from the original request… at least they were fruit based! Anyway they were a hit and were deemed “impressive” by the chief cake tester. The recipe was based on Rachel Khoo's recipe for Raspberry & Almond Tartlets. I swapped the raspberries for blueberries and added some lemon zest to the almond filling. In addition, I blind baked the pastry cases before adding the filling. I didn't want to risk a soggy bottom! Unfortunately, I overfilled the pastry cases a bit so they could have been a bit neater. Next time I will go easier on the filling!

Tartlets aux framboises et amandes (Raspberry and almond tartlets)

From Rachel Khoo, “The Little Paris Kitchen”

Makes 6 tartlets

90g soft butter

1 teaspoon caster sugar

A pinch of salt

180 plain flour

2 egg yolks

2 tablespoons ice-cold water

For the almond cream:

200g ground almonds

200g caster sugar

200g of soft butter

2 eggs

300g fruit

1. For the pastry. Using a wooden spoon, beat together the butter, sugar, and salt until soft and creamy. Mix in the flour, followed by the egg yolks, and ice-cold water. Bring together to make a smooth ball, adding a little more water if the pastry is too crumbly. Only knead as much as necessary to bring the dough together. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for a minimum of an hour, or overnight.

2. Make the cream: Beat the almonds, sugar, and butter just until smooth, then beat in the eggs.

3. Remove the pastry from the fridge 30 minutes before using and preheat the oven to 180'C. Lightly grease your the tins. Roll out the pastry between two sheets of parchment paper until 1/8-1/4-inch thick (don't go too thin, or it will stick to the parchment paper). Cut your dough to fit your pans. Place carefully in the pans and prick each base several times with a fork (I then chilled the cases in the fridge for 30 minutes and then blind baked the pastry cases for 15 minutes).

4. Spread the almond cream in the pastry shells and arrange the fruit on top, keeping the fruit close together so that they almost cover the cream.

5. Bake for 20 minutes or until the pastry edges are golden brown. Best eaten warm, cold is fine, too, but definitely not refrigerated.

 

