Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I made these choux buns as an alternative birthday cake for my other half as he prefers pastry to sponge. For the choux buns I used Mary Berry's recipe for profiteroles and watched a couple of YouTube videos to remind myself of the consistency of the choux mixture. Making the choux pastry is simple but ensuring the buns are cooked properly is a bit more tricky. I had to take them in and out of the oven a few times to make sure they had cooked and dried out. They took more cooking than the recipe suggested. The coffee cream is taken from another Mary Berry recipe and is a mix of instant coffee, vanilla essence, icing sugar and whipped double cream. I piped the coffee cream into the buns and then dipped them in melted dark chocolate and toasted almonds. I was pretty impressed with them… oh and my husband gave them the thumbs up too!

 

