Tags

, , , ,

This is a Primrose Bakery recipe which caught my eye when I was looking for something a bit different to make for breakfast. It is a winter alternative to fruit salad and I served it with Greek yoghurt but the recipe book suggests serving it with hot porridge or granola. Basically I stewed apples, pears and fresh cranberries and then added clementine segments. Each fruit needs to be poached in the syrup separately then removed and cooled because each fruit takes a slightly different time to cook. However the poaching syrup is what makes it special – you simply bring to the boil 1 litre of water, 500g of sugar, 1 cinnamon stick , 2 star anise, 6 whole cloves, a pinch of ground nutmeg, a pinch of ground ginger and a vanilla pod. I also think that the drained poached fruit would be a perfect winter pavlova topping. Mmmmmm…

 

